Guitar Tab Made Easy with TuxGuitar

Guitar tab is an incredibly useful tool for any guitarist at any level because it allows one guitarist to speak to another using notation without the need for any sort of musical background. Tab is the universal language we all know and understand. I have no idea what I would do without it.

However, I don’t know about you, but I have had a hard time transcribing my favourite songs into guitar tab. I tried pen and paper, which is OK until you make a mistake. I tried pencil so that I could rub out my mistakes but that only improved things a little.

Wouldn’t it be great if there was a piece of software that allowed anyone to create neat, clear, accurate tab without any fuss?

“Yes,” I hear you cry, “such programs exist but they all cost an arm and a leg!” I just wish I could justify the cost.

Well help is at hand, TuxGuitar is an awesome free guitar software package, which is available for either Linux, Mac or Windows. The feature list is pretty impressive:

  • Tablature editor
  • Score Viewer
  • Multitrack display
  • Imports and exports gp3,gp4 and gp5 files
  • Note duration management
  • Various effects (bend, slide, vibrato, hammer-on/pull-off)
  • Support for triplets (5,6,7,9,10,11,12)
  • Repeat open and close
  • Autoscroll while playing
  • Time signature management
  • Tempo management

I’ve been using it recently to produce chord diagrams for my students and it really couldn’t be easier.

So, if you need to write guitar tab, do yourself a favour and check out TuxGuitar.

This entry was posted in guitar tab, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guitar Tab Made Easy with TuxGuitar

  1. Dmitri says:

    thank you so much for this, waiting for your future posts

Leave a Reply

